Similar Threads

  1. [LITEON DG-16D4S - SLIM] JF Not Detecting Liteon After Sputnik Switch Install
    By fightincowboy in forum Xbox 360 Firmware Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th January 13, 13:46
  2. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 5th November 12, 18:51
  3. after sputnik switch install this :
    By suppoo in forum Xecuter Sputnik360
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 6th May 12, 01:09
  4. Sputnik 360 Switch Install
    By Mr Goon in forum The Noob Room
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 28th August 11, 15:04
Page 1 of 13 1234511 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 254
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    6,262
    Skill Level
    Modding, Gaming
    Thanks
    1,182
    Thanked 19,323 Times in 2,738 Posts

    Thumbs up Sputnik 360 Switch Install Instructions

    Before you do anything - dump the drive key using SLIMKEY feature in JF. Keep a copy of the dummy.bin safe. (Just follow this tutorial - steps 1 to 8 show you how)

    Remove the PCB from the drive (follow steps 1 to 13) and install the switch as shown in the pictures below. I prep the solder points with a fiberglass scratch brush (essential bit of kit for any modders toolbox) and apply a bit of flux. Then cut the trace and solder the switch - very quick and easy.

    Switch to 10 ohms to start with (most work with this) and switch to unlock.

    Get the latest version of JF and hook up to your X360USB PRO or compatible SATA card. Run intro in latest JF - power cycle - then will ask you to unlock the SPI. Click yes and you are done

    Now move the switch back to Normal and now do a full read and save the OFW file (you must the full LT Plus pack in your firmware folder before you can complete this step - it authenticates the firmware dump - you definatley need the files LTPlus-0272-v1.9.bin, LTPlus-0272-v1.91.bin and LTPlus-9504.bin) and then you are able to do a full write to the previously locked chip. Once complete hit CTRL + SHIFT + F11 to lock again

    Simple.







    PLEASE READ THE FORUM RULES BEFORE POSTING HERE

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Houston, TX, USA.
    Posts
    279
    Skill Level
    Whatever is required to get the job done.
    Thanks
    61
    Thanked 44 Times in 39 Posts

    Re: Sputnik 360 Switch Install Instructions

    Epic.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Houston, TX, USA.
    Posts
    279
    Skill Level
    Whatever is required to get the job done.
    Thanks
    61
    Thanked 44 Times in 39 Posts

    Re: Sputnik 360 Switch Install Instructions

    Oh, and MXIC only? Absolutely nub question but might aswell give it a go.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Houston, TX, USA.
    Posts
    279
    Skill Level
    Whatever is required to get the job done.
    Thanks
    61
    Thanked 44 Times in 39 Posts

    Re: Sputnik 360 Switch Install Instructions

    NM, found out. Oh, and where is the EDIT button?

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    296
    Skill Level
    jtag hack
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts

    Re: Sputnik 360 Switch Install Instructions

    Uber, you saying if im on 13599 dashboard i have to dumb the key and save it first then install the switch?

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    3,373
    Skill Level
    Soldering
    Thanks
    677
    Thanked 1,112 Times in 930 Posts

    Re: Sputnik 360 Switch Install Instructions

    Quote Originally Posted by ataroreh8132 View Post
    Uber, you saying if im on 13599 dashboard i have to dumb the key and save it first then install the switch?
    It doesn't matter what dashboard your on, or what drive you have, you should save the key, several times first......

    But as you are basically going to have issues if you mess this simple process up, make sure you have the key, that is all Uber is saying

  7. #7
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    united kingdom
    Posts
    1,423
    Skill Level
    flasher
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 416 Times in 354 Posts

    Re: Sputnik 360 Switch Install Instructions

    i know this is just the install guide but for any noobs out there please before attempting this make sure your drive is stock unmodded firmware then upgrade your dash to the latest firmware just to be safe

  8. #8
    Console PC Repairs
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Newbiggin By The Sea, Northumberland
    Posts
    502
    Skill Level
    Console Repair Centre
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 69 Times in 67 Posts

    Re: Sputnik 360 Switch Install Instructions

    May be a daft Q but take it with this switch you dont need the replacment PCB ?

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,546
    Skill Level
    Modding, Flashing and Repairs
    Thanks
    1,947
    Thanked 1,469 Times in 1,121 Posts

    Re: Sputnik 360 Switch Install Instructions

    Quote Originally Posted by xboxrc View Post
    May be a daft Q but take it with this switch you dont need the replacment PCB ?
    lol - yeah.....u don't need the pcb lol
    If you feel I have helped in anyway, please use the THANKS button or leave some REP

  10. #10
    Console PC Repairs
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Newbiggin By The Sea, Northumberland
    Posts
    502
    Skill Level
    Console Repair Centre
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 69 Times in 67 Posts

    Re: Sputnik 360 Switch Install Instructions

    Thanks diaboliq20 was just making sure

  11. #11
    Console PC Repairs
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Newbiggin By The Sea, Northumberland
    Posts
    502
    Skill Level
    Console Repair Centre
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 69 Times in 67 Posts

    Re: Sputnik 360 Switch Install Instructions

    Next Q is where can i buy the said switch from ?

  12. #12
    Console PC Repairs
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Newbiggin By The Sea, Northumberland
    Posts
    502
    Skill Level
    Console Repair Centre
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 69 Times in 67 Posts

    Re: Sputnik 360 Switch Install Instructions

    Just looked on CK3.co.uk and seen
    SPUTNIK360 - Liteon DG-16D4S DVD Unlock Probe


    Is this going be needed ?

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,546
    Skill Level
    Modding, Flashing and Repairs
    Thanks
    1,947
    Thanked 1,469 Times in 1,121 Posts

    Re: Sputnik 360 Switch Install Instructions

    If you have a read of Uber's tut is says you can use the Sputnik unlock OR the Sputnik Probe mate
    If you feel I have helped in anyway, please use the THANKS button or leave some REP

  14. #14
    Console PC Repairs
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Newbiggin By The Sea, Northumberland
    Posts
    502
    Skill Level
    Console Repair Centre
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 69 Times in 67 Posts

    Re: Sputnik 360 Switch Install Instructions

    ops lol sorry just had a quick read and then went looking for parts ..

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    3,373
    Skill Level
    Soldering
    Thanks
    677
    Thanked 1,112 Times in 930 Posts

    Re: Sputnik 360 Switch Install Instructions

    The probe is good is you are going to be doing a few, but i think you will need to re-solder the trace that you cut.

    With the switch that is not a problem as it has a lock mode, as well as the CTRL + SHFT + F11, to re-lock in JF. You are also re-creating the connection when you have soldered the chip on.

    The switch to me, seems to be the better of the two. especially for long term, as with all the new firmwares coming out, you will have to keep de-soldering the trace to unlock the drive. (I cannot confirm this, but it just seems natural to me) But with the switch you can unlock at will.

  16. #16
    Console PC Repairs
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Newbiggin By The Sea, Northumberland
    Posts
    502
    Skill Level
    Console Repair Centre
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 69 Times in 67 Posts

    Re: Sputnik 360 Switch Install Instructions

    I was thinking the Unlock was just to get the key.. With the old phat liteon I did MRA hack get the key and udated FW via iprep was hoping the slim would be the same..

    So use probe to Unlock and key get write FW with jungle and when new FW comes out just use Iprep to update the drive..

    Or am i wrong ? lol (hope that makes sense to someone)

  17. #17

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,546
    Skill Level
    Modding, Flashing and Repairs
    Thanks
    1,947
    Thanked 1,469 Times in 1,121 Posts

    Re: Sputnik 360 Switch Install Instructions

    You can read the key no problem - writing can only be accomplished with the hack - if you download jf 1.86 and read the documentation, it will give you an idea of what you need to do
    If you feel I have helped in anyway, please use the THANKS button or leave some REP

    The Following User Says Thank You to diaboliq20 For This Useful Post:



  18. #18

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    sheffield,uk
    Posts
    256
    Skill Level
    firmware upgrade
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 41 Times in 35 Posts

    Re: Sputnik 360 Switch Install Instructions

    started up with switch on unlock.no drive detected.started up with switch on normal and drive detected.tried on 10 ohms with no joy so switch'd to 15 and got beep and unlock but when i went to read i got an auto-load orig message saying couldn't open the file ltplus -0272-v1.9bin ??? so turned ck3 pro off restarted jf into id and went straight into vendor mode so i am assuming it was still in unlock mode? clicked on read and same error...any ideas

    JungleFlasher 0.1.86 Beta (267)

    Session Started Thu Aug 18 13:22:48 2011



    This is a Wow 64 process running on 2 x 64 bit CPUs

    X360USB PRO detected, Version 0.18



    Found 1 I/O Ports.

    Found 1 Com Ports.

    Found 5 windows drives A: C: D: E: F:

    Found 2 CD/DVD drives E: F:



    Sending Vendor Intro to port 0x0000

    Status 0x51

    Re-sending Vendor Intro:

    ...................

    Serial flash found with Status 0x72



    Sending Device ID request to port 0x0000

    Spi Status: 0x00

    Manufacturer ID: 0xC2

    Device ID: 0x11

    Flash Name: MXIC(MX25L2005)

    Flash Size: 262144 bytes



    Getting Status from port 0x0000

    Serial flash found with Status 0x72

    Reading Drive Key.

    ............

    Authorised !

    Confirming sector 0x3E000.

    ................
    this is the point where i get the auto-load orig message

  19. #19

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    6,262
    Skill Level
    Modding, Gaming
    Thanks
    1,182
    Thanked 19,323 Times in 2,738 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by xbox360 hacker View Post
    i know this is just the install guide but for any noobs out there please before attempting this make sure your drive is stock unmodded firmware then upgrade your dash to the latest firmware just to be safe
    Of course it would be stock unmodded, this hack is for drives that are locked/unflashable lol

  20. #20

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    6,262
    Skill Level
    Modding, Gaming
    Thanks
    1,182
    Thanked 19,323 Times in 2,738 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by xbox360items View Post
    started up with switch on unlock.no drive detected.started up with switch on normal and drive detected.tried on 10 ohms with no joy so switch'd to 15 and got beep and unlock but when i went to read i got an auto-load orig message saying couldn't open the file ltplus -0272-v1.9bin ??? so turned ck3 pro off restarted jf into id and went straight into vendor mode so i am assuming it was still in unlock mode? clicked on read and same error...any ideas

    this is the point where i get the auto-load orig message
    Use your brain....seriously bro.

 

 
Page 1 of 13 1234511 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •