Similar Threads

  1. [DGX] Corona v2 won't glitch with RGX
    By baffledcoder in forum Xecuter RGX / DGX Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 8th March 13, 19:02
  2. [DGX] dgx corona v4 won't glitch
    By WalangAlam in forum Xecuter RGX / DGX Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12th February 13, 08:26
  3. [RGH] Corona V1 Glitch help CR3 Lite, sometimes glitch, sometimes dont
    By babovand in forum RGH / JTAG 4 Noobs
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 7th February 13, 18:49
  4. [FIXED] cant glitch corona v1
    By pongopongo in forum Xecuter RGX / DGX Support
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 25th January 13, 15:59
  5. Corona v1 refuse to glitch
    By freegetter in forum RGH / JTAG 4 Noobs
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 4th January 13, 04:39
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 25
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    411
    Skill Level
    X360 modding services
    Thanks
    582
    Thanked 96 Times in 45 Posts

    Corona V4 won't glitch

    Although I have done several Coronas V4 with no problem (Xell under 3 minutes on each install), I spent more than 20 hrs trying to glitch this one and now it seems that I'm stuck.

    Initial install:

    - Corona V4 runing DB 16202
    - TX Corona 4GB QSB V4
    - TX Postfix Adapter
    - DGX v1.0S
    - Latest JRunner













    Code:
    Checking Files
    Finished Checking Files
    E:\
    Reading from E:\ to c:\%Private%\J-Runner v02 Beta (285)\output\nanddump1.bin
    Done!
    in 0:04 min:sec
    E:\
    Reading from E:\ to c:\%Private%\J-Runner v02 Beta (285)\output\nanddump2.bin
    Done!
    in 0:04 min:sec
    E:\
    Reading from E:\ to c:\%Private%\J-Runner v02 Beta (285)\output\nanddump3.bin
    Done!
    in 0:03 min:sec
    Initializing nanddump1.bin..
    Comparing...
    Can't check for bad blocks. No Spare data. Possibly Corona 4GB
    Nand Initialization Finished
    Can't check for bad blocks. No Spare data. Possibly Corona 4GB
    Nands are the same
    Writing to E:\ from c:\%Private%\J-Runner v02 Beta (285)\common\DGX\CORONA_4GB_DGX.ecc
    Done!
    in 0:00:857 min:sec:ms
    I proceeded as usual, made 3 dumps of NAND, all three did match. Wrote ECC for DGX (Corona V4), bridged r2c6 and r2c7, installed Postfix Adapter, soldered wires for DGX and tried to run the Xell. I only had my TV and LAN connected (no monitor Comms cable) as all previous Coronas gave me the Xell on TV screen.

    Tried different wire lenghts for post_out and cpu_rst, different types, tried different position of DGX itself. Only I can get is either neverending debug LED blinking (15+ minutes) or syndrome "only 5-6 blinks and then stop".

    My problem is similar to this except that none of the hints helped me.
    http://www.xecuter.com/forums/showthread.php?t=98693

    I thought the Xell is running when the DGX has stopped blinking, although I had nothing on TV screen, nor on scan IP range. So I decided to solder Corona QSB V3 and use original Comms cable to monitor post in JRunner. Even with this cable installed, when DGX has stopped blinking, nothing was visible in JRunner monitor post.

    When debug LED on DGX just stops blinking with no Xell displayed, console "freezes" somehow because it won't be turned off using my IR remote like it should. Only way to turn off console in this situation is unplugging the power cord.

    I tried to write alternative ECC v2 for DGX with the same result. I tried to swap Postfix Adapter, no change. I tried to desolder everything and tried to install all from scratch, no change.

    When I wrote back original NAND image, the console is running just fine.

    Wire types and lenghts I tried.

    cpu_rst:

    - standard wire as short as possible to C5R11
    - standard wire 10 cm to C5R11
    - 24WG wire (the one used for ground) as short as possible to C5R11
    - standard wire as short as possible to alternative FT3T10

    post_out:

    - standard wire lengts as short as possible, 15,20,25,30,37,40,50,60,70,90,100,110,120 cm

    - kynar wire as short as possible, 10, 70 cm


    At the end, I tried as short as possible wires also for "E", "F" and "5V" (this is my latest setup - see picture).


    On every install I'm getting either neverending debug LED on DGX blinking or the debug LED stops blinking sooner or later with no Xell.

    I feel like I tried everything but swapping DGX, but the DGX working just fine on another consoles.

    I also read somewhere on the forum that someone had to use resistors for r2c6 and r2c7 instead of just bridging them and this change made his console booting Xell. However I did notice that this is not recommended so I haven't tried this.

    Any help here is really appreciated.
    Last edited by tr4ckerz; 13th February 13 at 00:42. Reason: Additional info added.

  2. #2
    Hacker
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    SIL, Russia
    Posts
    599
    Skill Level
    Beyond
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 381 Times in 192 Posts

    Re: Corona V4 won't glitch

    Solder cpu_rst wire to rst trace near cpu (front side).
    Sometimes it could help
    Need some help? PM!
    MLP <3

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    411
    Skill Level
    X360 modding services
    Thanks
    582
    Thanked 96 Times in 45 Posts

    Re: Corona V4 won't glitch

    Could you please point out to the exact place? I assume this would need to expose the trace, is this common solution? Have you had any success with this on non-glitching console?

  4. #4
    Hacker
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    SIL, Russia
    Posts
    599
    Skill Level
    Beyond
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 381 Times in 192 Posts

    Re: Corona V4 won't glitch

    http://img268.imageshack.us/img268/6...tcoronaalt.jpg

    Near the CPU

    I've never installed freeboot, but I know two consoles dgx'ed this way
    Last edited by 15432; 12th February 13 at 17:48.
    Need some help? PM!
    MLP <3

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    India
    Posts
    38
    Skill Level
    Modding LT, RGH, JTAG, Reball, Board Repair
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts

    Re: Corona V4 won't glitch

    Check your voltage on postout.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    411
    Skill Level
    X360 modding services
    Thanks
    582
    Thanked 96 Times in 45 Posts

    Re: Corona V4 won't glitch

    Quote Originally Posted by 15432 View Post
    http://img268.imageshack.us/img268/6...tcoronaalt.jpg

    Near the CPU

    I've never installed freeboot, but I know two consoles dgx'ed this way
    The alternate point you are referring to is unfortunately under postfix adapter so I don't think I'm gonna try this. Trying soldering under the adapter could lead to damaging the needle I guess.

    Quote Originally Posted by crashxtrme View Post
    Check your voltage on postout.
    I checked soldering and measured continuity hundred times. Although my multimeter is not an high-end model and probably a bit slow I can measure voltage approx. up to 1.7V when DGX blinks.

    Btw I just did other console (Trinity on DB 16202) without single problem so the DGX itself must be working as I supposed.
    Last edited by tr4ckerz; 12th February 13 at 23:09.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    464
    Skill Level
    RGH, JTAG, Flashing
    Thanks
    96
    Thanked 98 Times in 84 Posts

    Re: Corona V4 won't glitch

    Stupid question...is dip 8 on your DGX off?

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    411
    Skill Level
    X360 modding services
    Thanks
    582
    Thanked 96 Times in 45 Posts

    Re: Corona V4 won't glitch

    No, dip #8 is ON as OP refers to Corona.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Cincinnati Ohio
    Posts
    553
    Skill Level
    chip installs
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 138 Times in 100 Posts

    Re: Corona V4 won't glitch

    Move that dgx on the other side of the Microsoft chip(close to your post fix) then cut yellow wire to length (will be really short) then past cpu rst threw the big hole and cut to length

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Posts
    16
    Skill Level
    RGH, JTAG, Modding and repair
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: Corona V4 won't glitch

    I had a similar problem with a Corona 4GB I did. I actually turned out to be a problem with the writing of the DGX file.

    When I wrote the DGX ecc to the nand, the Jrunner log said that the write was successful, however, it hadn't written at all and turned out to be a faulty R/W kit. The original dump turned out fine but the write was a problem. I replaced it and it glitched first go.

    You can tell if the ecc has been written to the Nand by unsoldering the 5v wire from the DGX chip and attempting to boot the console. If it boots to the stock dash you know the ecc hasn't been written, if it doesn't boot it has.

    I hope this helps, I was a long time spent on this particular console until I found this out.
    Last edited by Daveallo; 13th February 13 at 00:22.

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    411
    Skill Level
    X360 modding services
    Thanks
    582
    Thanked 96 Times in 45 Posts

    Re: Corona V4 won't glitch

    Quote Originally Posted by jligg View Post
    Move that dgx on the other side of the Microsoft chip(close to your post fix) then cut yellow wire to length (will be really short) then past cpu rst threw the big hole and cut to length
    I will give it a try.

    Quote Originally Posted by Daveallo View Post
    I had a similar problem with a Corona 4GB I did. I actually turned out to be a problem with the writing of the DGX file.

    When I wrote the DGX ecc to the nand, the Jrunner log said that the write was successful, however, it hadn't written at all and turned out to be a faulty R/W kit. The original dump turned out fine but the write was a problem. I replaced it and it glitched first go.

    You can tell if the ecc has been written to the Nand by unsoldering the 5v wire from the DGX chip and attempting to boot the console. If it boots to the stock dash you know the ecc hasn't been written, if it doesn't boot it has.

    I hope this helps, I was a long time spent on this particular console until I found this out.
    I read this your experience in other topic and I have tried this. When I desoldered 5V from DGX, console won't boot (just turned ON). I also tried to write my original NAND dump back and the console ran just fine. I assume that my RW Kit must be fine then.


    I forgot to mention that when DGX just stops blinking and I have no Xell, console "freezes" somehow because it won't be turned off using my IR remote like it should. Only way to turn off console in this situation is unplugging the power cord (added this to OP).

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    290
    Skill Level
    DVD Firmware, JTAG and RGH Installs. Buying and reselling consoles.
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 65 Times in 50 Posts

    Re: Corona V4 won't glitch

    Quote Originally Posted by tr4ckerz View Post
    I forgot to mention that when DGX just stops blinking and I have no Xell, console "freezes" somehow because it won't be turned off using my IR remote like it should. Only way to turn off console in this situation is unplugging the power cord (added this to OP).
    I assume the alternate DGX ECC has been attempted then with the same result?

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    411
    Skill Level
    X360 modding services
    Thanks
    582
    Thanked 96 Times in 45 Posts

    Re: Corona V4 won't glitch

    Quote Originally Posted by jligg View Post
    Move that dgx on the other side of the Microsoft chip(close to your post fix) then cut yellow wire to length (will be really short) then past cpu rst threw the big hole and cut to length
    Tried that, same result Had post_out and cpu_rst as short as possible. Also tried to add 10Ohm to post_out, nothing.

    Quote Originally Posted by daretogo View Post
    I assume the alternate DGX ECC has been attempted then with the same result?
    Tried that as well, same result. Sooner or later the debug LED on DGX stops blinking, no Xell, only way to turn off the console is to unplug power cord.

    Is this one non-glitchable? Am I only one having Slim with this result?

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Reading, PA
    Posts
    338
    Skill Level
    Modding/console repair
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 30 Times in 25 Posts

    Re: Corona V4 won't glitch

    http://i1326.photobucket.com/albums/...psebdd0ba6.jpg

    Unsolder this point and tuck some electrical tape between it and the pad...

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    OR
    Posts
    178
    Skill Level
    Modding
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Corona V4 won't glitch

    It looks like you missed a soldering spot on the post_out that solders to a resistor. It may just be the photo

  16. #16

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Robin Hood County
    Posts
    915
    Skill Level
    Xbox360 All Mods
    Thanks
    288
    Thanked 282 Times in 233 Posts

    Re: Corona V4 won't glitch

    They are just anchor points and do not need to be soldered.
    Quote Originally Posted by crazed-cracker View Post
    It looks like you missed a soldering spot on the post_out that solders to a resistor. It may just be the photo

  17. #17

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Cincinnati Ohio
    Posts
    553
    Skill Level
    chip installs
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 138 Times in 100 Posts

    Re: Corona V4 won't glitch

    hey tr4ckerz where are you located?

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Reading, PA
    Posts
    338
    Skill Level
    Modding/console repair
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 30 Times in 25 Posts

    Re: Corona V4 won't glitch

    Quote Originally Posted by Menethoran View Post
    http://i1326.photobucket.com/albums/...psebdd0ba6.jpg

    Unsolder this point and tuck some electrical tape between it and the pad...
    Have you tried this yet?

  19. #19

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Woodstock, Ontario
    Posts
    297
    Skill Level
    Intermediate
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 69 Times in 58 Posts

    Re: Corona V4 won't glitch

    Double check your bridge points are good. Had this happen to me once, resoldered and got the key within seconds.

  20. #20

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    411
    Skill Level
    X360 modding services
    Thanks
    582
    Thanked 96 Times in 45 Posts

    Re: Corona V4 won't glitch

    Quote Originally Posted by Menethoran View Post
    http://i1326.photobucket.com/albums/u645/Menethoran/o0JUXlFl_zpsebdd0ba6.jpg

    Unsolder this point and tuck some electrical tape between it and the pad...
    Quote Originally Posted by Menethoran View Post
    Have you tried this yet?
    Tried that. Still the same result. DGX stops blinking after several attempts, no Xell, console won't turn off otherwise than unplugging power cord I can confirn, that stock NAND boots just fine.



    Quote Originally Posted by crazed-cracker View Post
    It looks like you missed a soldering spot on the post_out that solders to a resistor. It may just be the photo
    As krypt1c said, those are just anchors and do not need to be soldered. I had them soldered though while my initial attempt.

    Quote Originally Posted by jligg View Post
    hey tr4ckerz where are you located?
    East Europe

    Quote Originally Posted by FlipMode View Post
    Double check your bridge points are good. Had this happen to me once, resoldered and got the key within seconds.
    I checked the bridges as same as all other soldering hundred times. I believe the bridges are perfect. I'm desperate , I do not know what else to try


    Last edited by tr4ckerz; 17th February 13 at 21:56.

 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •