Similar Threads

  1. How To burn? (XGD3 )
    By jemil in forum Xbox Backup Creator
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 28th December 11, 00:43
  2. NEW : PC DVD Burner for XGD3
    By meowmix123bbb in forum Forum Info & Updates
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 31st October 11, 22:54
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Noob Account
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    7
    Skill Level
    None...yet
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unsuccessful burn with XGD3 and modified Max Burner FW

    Specs: Ihas 124b with Max burner firmware (Modified) and Verbatims MK-003's

    A while back i did what was said in this guide and I got beautiful burns with great PI and PIF values. The first time i try to burn an XDG3 title (Mass Effect 3) I got "Disc unreadable". There no box art on the title in the console menu and it just says "Play game" like an unsuccessful burn usually does. Ran it through ABGX360 with no errors before burning and the burn completed successfully. Despite this I am now down two discs. Both discs same story.

    Now it I wonder if this has anything to do with changing the media code from MK-0a3 back to the original MK-003. Could this have effected the burn? Does anyone have a similar story?
    Last edited by devil9; 17th April 12 at 16:40.

  2. #2
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    45
    Skill Level
    Good
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts

    Re: Unsuccessful burn with XGD3 and modified Max Burner FW

    Check opc is on in image burn try different settings in EEPROM till you get a decent burn and clear the opc history in EEPROM each time you burn mite help check result with kprobe
    Also are you using the latest LT3.0?
    Last edited by dj skam; 18th April 12 at 00:15. Reason: Miss type

    The Following User Says Thank You to dj skam For This Useful Post:



  3. #3
    Noob Account
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Riverview, FL
    Posts
    3
    Skill Level
    Modding, Flashing, Repairs & More
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: Unsuccessful burn with XGD3 and modified Max Burner FW

    Make sure you are burning them at 2.4x and not 4x. That's a main issue that was causing the problem for me. If you're burning them at 4x you'll have a higher failure rate for Mass Effect 3 and certain other games like Forza 4, than normal. I do not know why this is, because I've used 4x for years without issues until certain games as of recently. I use the same setup, and I've had to go from 4x to 2.4x burns due to backups not working and etc.

    I'm using IMG Burn 2.5.7.0, with OPC on always, Overburn On, Overspeed On, OHT On, and FHT On. Also my buffer is set to 512 MB, I do this for better buffer recovery if I'm torrenting and the harddrive uses a lot of the buffer. Also, OPC will preserve your burner's laser from the effects of wear and tear, least as far as I've been told, and seen. I had an old Sony DVD burner without OPC support, and it died within say.. 3 Months of constant burning? Might be the brand name really, but with the Lite-On iHas124-B I've had NO issues with it, and I've had it since January burning constantly without any problems.

    Best of luck though, hope this helps!

    The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to XionDrg777 For This Useful Post:



  4. #4

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Southampton, UK
    Posts
    2,758
    Skill Level
    JTAG, RGH, Flashing
    Thanks
    180
    Thanked 642 Times in 572 Posts

    Re: Unsuccessful burn with XGD3 and modified Max Burner FW

    Mkm001 are burnt at 2.4x
    Mkm003 are burnt at 4x
    Please press the thanks button to the left if I help you out.

    Roadmap for Noobies by Martin C, NANDX Troubleshooting by Martin C
    RGH/JTAG Support TEMPLATE, R-JTAG Support TEMPLATE

    The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Utmad For This Useful Post:



  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    268
    Skill Level
    playing games
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 64 Times in 62 Posts
    Burner max fw was designed with the overburning of xgd3 discs in mind. Because of this you need to adjust your setting to be working properly with xgd3 burns. Any unmodified burner can handle a non xgd3 game, which is what you based your settings on.
    If you run your unreadable backups thru Kprobe I bet the will fail the test.



    Sent while driving dangerously using Tapatalk

    The Following User Says Thank You to onedumblonde For This Useful Post:



  6. #6
    Noob Account
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    7
    Skill Level
    None...yet
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unsuccessful burn with XGD3 and modified Max Burner FW

    Ok. Sitrep: Burnt it again with FHT, OHT and OPC on @ 2.4x. Works great. Thanks everyone!

    The problem wasn't the modified firmware, it was that when you're burning so close to the edge of the disc FHT, OHT and OPC has to be on to get a proper burn.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    South Wales - UK
    Posts
    214
    Skill Level
    Newbie
    Thanks
    138
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

    Re: Unsuccessful burn with XGD3 and modified Max Burner FW

    im having the same problem, but how do i change these, Overburn On, Overspeed On, OHT On, and FHT On and the buffer to 512 MB? i have managed to toggle opc on
    If I helped in any way, just say thanks!
    It goes a long way

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    US
    Posts
    697
    Skill Level
    intermediate
    Thanks
    165
    Thanked 161 Times in 150 Posts

    Re: Unsuccessful burn with XGD3 and modified Max Burner FW

    Quote Originally Posted by Andez1986 View Post
    im having the same problem, but how do i change these, Overburn On, Overspeed On, OHT On, and FHT On and the buffer to 512 MB? i have managed to toggle opc on

    Make sure you have the correct drive selected and the settings are under the options tab.

    I believe the buffer size may be under general settings.

    The Following User Says Thank You to -DoC- For This Useful Post:



  9. #9

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    South Wales - UK
    Posts
    214
    Skill Level
    Newbie
    Thanks
    138
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

    Re: Unsuccessful burn with XGD3 and modified Max Burner FW

    I have just got myself a iHas 124-b, with latest firmware, im trying to burn my saints row the 3rd with imageburn 2.5.7 i get this message

    W 20:22:23 User specified layer break position exceeds L0 capacity.
    W 20:22:23 User Specified L0 Sectors: 2,133,520
    W 20:22:23 Maximum L0 Sectors: 2,086,912
    I 20:22:23 User Specified L0 Data Zone Capacity: 2,133,520
    W 20:22:23 Set L0 Data Zone Capacity Failed! - Reason: Invalid Field in Parameter List

    I dont know why I am getting this, it didnt before on other backups, my 360 also says play game but nothing loads up, no pic of game either

    the game is burning at 4x at the moment, verbs mkm 003, so soon i will check it and update this

    thanks for help everyone anyway on sorting the OHT = on etc..
    If I helped in any way, just say thanks!
    It goes a long way

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    South Wales - UK
    Posts
    214
    Skill Level
    Newbie
    Thanks
    138
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

    Re: Unsuccessful burn with XGD3 and modified Max Burner FW

    after burn and verify, play game comes up, game is shown, pressed A, waited and.......

    Fucked, this disc is not supported

    well stumped
    If I helped in any way, just say thanks!
    It goes a long way

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    16
    Skill Level
    playing games
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unsuccessful burn with XGD3 and modified Max Burner FW

    r u sure u flashed ur ihas to max burn correctly & imgburn shows the disc space available is 8.7 gb ? also dont use specified layerbreak always do Calculate optimal & be sure that ur dvd.file is having the correct layerbreak written inside it for XGD3 , so imgburn will copy that when it start burning & will write in log> layerbreak copied from original disk , also i recommend u to clear OPC history by EEPROM utility & recycle ur drive ( reboot ) ur pc , & delete previous imgburn , & install it again & make sure during installing u choose reset settings , then make sure u burn with the following method: for MK003 i always burn on 4x speed
    imgburn settings:
    OPC=ON , Burn proof= OFF ,Verify= OFF, Layerbreak=CAlculate optimal , speed=4x
    Buffer = FULL 512mb
    EEPROM settings > ENABLE AAALLLL settings fht=on, oht=on, ov=on,sb=on
    turn off ur screen saver & sleep power & dont touch ur pc while burning
    this is what i got always succeful burn on my indian (not even Singapore) Verbs MK-003

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    109
    Skill Level
    Flashing | Jtagging | RGH | Repairing | LED Mods
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 19 Times in 18 Posts

    Re: Unsuccessful burn with XGD3 and modified Max Burner FW

    Why did you change the media code? The Burner MAX FW was created that way for a reason. When I bought my IHAS 124B, I flashed it with CFW , changed a few settings in EEPROM and IMGBurn , and I never had a coaster yet. I just Backed up and Burnt my Mass Effect 3, and both discs work fine. I am using VERBs MKM-001 btw.

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •