Similar Threads

  1. [BLASTER CK3] Power Blaster CK3?
    By mttcttrll in forum Xecuter Blaster CK3
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 21st March 11, 05:25
  2. [ANSWERED] CK3 Blaster - No Power?
    By godless21 in forum Xecuter Blaster CK3
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 9th August 10, 14:45
  3. ck3 blaster power
    By matt53 in forum Xecuter Blaster CK3
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd July 10, 22:18
  4. Blaster CK3 power ?
    By dunken in forum Xecuter Blaster CK3
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23rd March 10, 16:55
  5. 360 Power & Blaster NE v2?
    By Global_Inferno in forum Xbox 360 Firmware Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6th May 09, 10:23
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Noob Account
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    6
    Skill Level
    Expert
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question how to power blaster CK3

    Hello,

    I just installed my brand new Blaster CK3. :-)

    My problem is that i don't know how am i supposed to power the blaster.

    When i use the power on switch on the blaster nothing happens.

    When i power an the xbox with it's power switch, the blaster starts to glow, but the xbox boots into the dashbord.

    I don't think this is supposed to happen, because dash may detect the missing drive when i switch to pc mode.

    I read in some other thread, that the xbox should be in a state where the led-ring is blinking and the dash is not booting up. but that's not the case.

    How should i use the blaster, to avoid booting up dash?

    greetings,
    Philip

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    3,373
    Skill Level
    Soldering
    Thanks
    676
    Thanked 1,111 Times in 929 Posts

    Re: how to power blaster CK3

    There are two modes,

    Normal mode, where nothing is powered on, Meaning that your dashboard will be available for you.

    And Flashing/Firmware mode. This enables the ports that you see on the front to be used to flash the drive internally, via your pc/sata chipset.

    Both Button configurations are shown in the Blaster CK3 setup guide.

    Have you actually tried to flash you drive yet, or connect it to a PC

  3. #3
    Noob Account
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    6
    Skill Level
    Expert
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: how to power blaster CK3

    Quote Originally Posted by Goldensavage View Post
    There are two modes,
    And Flashing/Firmware mode. This enables the ports that you see on the front to be used to flash the drive internally, via your pc/sata chipset.

    Both Button configurations are shown in the Blaster CK3 setup guide.
    I have tried the firmware mode settings. Without the xbox powered on, nothing happens.
    When i power on the xbox, it boots up dash and the blaster is glowing.

    Quote Originally Posted by Goldensavage View Post
    Have you actually tried to flash you drive yet, or connect it to a PC
    No i haven't, because first, i want to know if blaster is supposed to boot the dashboard in Firmware/Flashing Mode. I need a confirmation for that.

    I think that a running dashboard is able to detect the missing drive when i switch it to my pc's SATA port.
    Or am i wrong and the blaster is not just some sort of switch between external(Blaster) sata and my internal mobo's SATA port?

    - phil
    Last edited by PhilWeb; 30th November 09 at 15:40.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    3,373
    Skill Level
    Soldering
    Thanks
    676
    Thanked 1,111 Times in 929 Posts

    Re: how to power blaster CK3

    I have checked mine, it is fully connected and i have flashed 2 drives with it.

    All modes will bring up the dashboard. But if you insert a disc while it is in anything other than Xbox/Xbox switch Mode, It will just say open tray.

    The light flashes if the switch is set to Mode On. It does not flash if booted up in Mode Off (The Mode B Switch)

    You seem to have no problems. The eject button on the xbox 360 does not work, when in Pc mode, you have to use the Blaster Eject Button, That shows that the switch has been made from PC to Xbox 360.

    You shouldn't have any probs Mate

  5. #5
    Noob Account
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    6
    Skill Level
    Expert
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: how to power blaster CK3

    Well, thanks.

    That's good news. I was just worried, because i thought the dashboard is able to detect the absence of the drive while flashing. Good to hear that the blaster is smart enough to prevent that.

    So, to sum up the procedure, for my already flashed benq:

    1.) set switches, while xbox powered off:
    Mode-Switch: Off
    PC/XBOX-Switch: PC
    Blaster-Power: On

    2.) Then boot up the xbox360 into dash.
    3.) flash the drive.
    4.) shutdown xbox360.

    5.) set switches back to xbox-mode while powered off:
    Mode-Switch: XB360
    PC/XBOX-Switch: XB360
    Blaster-Power: Off

    6.) boot up the xbox360 again and happy playing.

    Is that right?

    thanks for your help.

    greetings,
    phil

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    3,373
    Skill Level
    Soldering
    Thanks
    676
    Thanked 1,111 Times in 929 Posts

    Re: how to power blaster CK3

    Seems right to me.

    You can use the mode switch to set the drive to mode B, but i normally use JungleFlasher for that.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Asia
    Posts
    8,056
    Skill Level
    Elite
    Thanks
    556
    Thanked 27,141 Times in 1,563 Posts

    Re: how to power blaster CK3

    isn't all this covered in the Blaster CK3 tutorials ?
    PLEASE READ THE FORUM RULES BEFORE POSTING HERE

  8. #8
    Noob Account
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    6
    Skill Level
    Expert
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: how to power blaster CK3

    Hi,
    Quote Originally Posted by Xecuter View Post
    isn't all this covered in the Blaster CK3 tutorials ?
    I don't think so.

    Nowhere is noted that the XBOX360 is supposed to start up the dashboard as normal.

    I think some users, like myself might consider this dangerous.

    It would be fine to note somewhere, how the xbox360 responds to an active blaster ck3.

    best regards,
    Philip
    Last edited by PhilWeb; 1st December 09 at 00:10.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Asia
    Posts
    8,056
    Skill Level
    Elite
    Thanks
    556
    Thanked 27,141 Times in 1,563 Posts

    Re: how to power blaster CK3

    what difference does it make if it does or if it doesn't ?

    i dont understand the issue you are having ?

    Turn it on - flash - turn it off - play

    Thats it - pretty simple imo
    PLEASE READ THE FORUM RULES BEFORE POSTING HERE

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    PHX,AZ
    Posts
    702
    Skill Level
    troubleshooting
    Thanks
    54
    Thanked 72 Times in 54 Posts

    Re: how to power blaster CK3

    How to operate the Blaster CK3
    The function of the Blaster CK3 is very simple. You have Xbox 360 mode and PC Mode. For the 360 to operate as normal as if the Blaster was not installed switch both switches to XB360 and move the power switch to off.
    Xecuter Blaster CK3 Xbox Mode

    When you want to write to your DVD drive simply push the main switch to PC and turn the power switch to ON (The Mode switch can be set to OFF – you can set Modeb via software on all Hitachi models using the latest Jungle Flasher – we have included a Modeb switch just in case someone requires it). Then connect the Xbox 360 power supply unit and you can now connect your Xbox to your PC using a Sata cable.
    Xecuter Blaster CK3 Firmware Mode

    You can use the Serial RS232 or the USB ports if you have the Liteon 74850C DVD drive. Otherwise you only need to use the Sata port.
    Xecuter Blaster CK3 Ports

    While the Blaster is functional it lights up green.
    Xecuter Blaster CK3 Green Light

    Blaster CK3 Vendor Mode (Half Tray Eject Trick):
    The Liteon drive requires you to have the tray half ejected for it to kick into vendor mode in Jungle Flasher. This is a very simple trick where many many seem to mess up on and wonder why they get 0000000000 as a bad DVD key. The process with the Blaster Ck3 is simple:

    1. Power on Xbox with Blaster Ck3 enabled in firmware mode.
    2. Press eject on the Blaster Ck3 (Button is down)
    3. Power off the Xbox 360
    4. Press eject again on the Blaster Ck3 (Button is up)
    5. Push the tray manually half way in
    6. Power on the Xbox 360
    7. Use Jungle Flasher to read the DVD key (make sure you use the included Probe Tool if you have a Liteon 74850C)


    Warning

    DO NOT connect the USB cable if you don’t have a Liteon 74850C DVD drive and DO NOT use the Blaster CK3 Probe on a Liteon 83850C or 93450C DVD Drive – you may cause damage to your Xbox Drive and Blaster CK3.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------

  11. #11
    Noob Account
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    6
    Skill Level
    Expert
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: how to power blaster CK3

    Quote Originally Posted by Xecuter View Post
    what difference does it make if it does or if it doesn't ?
    I was just worried, that i may get banned, if my running dash detects a missing drive while flashing. Because i don't think the drive is able to respond to requests from dash, while flash is being written.

    I know there are thousands of other ways to get banned, just don't wanted to put me on risk.

    Quote Originally Posted by Xecuter View Post
    i dont understand the issue you are having ?
    I don't have any issues any more. Was just worried. :-)

    Everything works fine, just flashed my drive.

    thanks everyone.



    Just out of curiosity, what is the blaster doing, if dash sends a request to the drive, while i am in firmware mode?

    greetings,
    phil

  12. #12
    Noob Account
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    6
    Skill Level
    Expert
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: how to power blaster CK3

    Quote Originally Posted by barelynotlegal View Post
    How to operate the Blaster CK3
    The function of the Blaster CK3 is very simple. You have Xbox 360 mode and PC Mode. For the 360 to operate as normal as if the Blaster was not installed switch both switches to XB360 and move the power switch to off.
    Xecuter Blaster CK3 Xbox Mode

    When you want to write to your DVD drive simply push the main switch to PC and turn the power switch to ON (The Mode switch can be set to OFF – you can set Modeb via software on all Hitachi models using the latest Jungle Flasher – we have included a Modeb switch just in case someone requires it). Then connect the Xbox 360 power supply unit and you can now connect your Xbox to your PC using a Sata cable.
    Xecuter Blaster CK3 Firmware Mode

    You can use the Serial RS232 or the USB ports if you have the Liteon 74850C DVD drive. Otherwise you only need to use the Sata port.
    Xecuter Blaster CK3 Ports

    While the Blaster is functional it lights up green.
    Xecuter Blaster CK3 Green Light

    Blaster CK3 Vendor Mode (Half Tray Eject Trick):
    The Liteon drive requires you to have the tray half ejected for it to kick into vendor mode in Jungle Flasher. This is a very simple trick where many many seem to mess up on and wonder why they get 0000000000 as a bad DVD key. The process with the Blaster Ck3 is simple:

    1. Power on Xbox with Blaster Ck3 enabled in firmware mode.
    2. Press eject on the Blaster Ck3 (Button is down)
    3. Power off the Xbox 360
    4. Press eject again on the Blaster Ck3 (Button is up)
    5. Push the tray manually half way in
    6. Power on the Xbox 360
    7. Use Jungle Flasher to read the DVD key (make sure you use the included Probe Tool if you have a Liteon 74850C)


    Warning

    DO NOT connect the USB cable if you don’t have a Liteon 74850C DVD drive and DO NOT use the Blaster CK3 Probe on a Liteon 83850C or 93450C DVD Drive – you may cause damage to your Xbox Drive and Blaster CK3.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------
    You should read the threads more carefully. I already stated, that my "problem" is resolved.

    Thanks anyway for copying in the exact same tutorial from the xecuter site. No noob here.

    greetings,
    phil

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •