Similar Threads

  1. blue wire to cpu_rst
    By xbox360rocks in forum Xecuter CR3 PRO Support
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 22nd February 13, 19:27
  2. CPU_RST Wire Positioning
    By LordoftheSith in forum RGH / JTAG 4 Noobs
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 25th January 13, 01:13
  3. Anyone tried the alternative JED with Slims for shorter CPU_RST wire?
    By crimpshrine in forum Xecuter CoolRunner / CR3 Lite Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 16th December 11, 17:05
  4. [RGH] slim CPU_RST wire
    By paul.86 in forum Xecuter CoolRunner / CR3 Lite Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 9th December 11, 16:14
  5. [RGH] CPU_RST short wire
    By esbmaepo in forum Xecuter CoolRunner / CR3 Lite Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 5th December 11, 02:53
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    39
    Skill Level
    Hobby-Modder
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Splitting CPU_RST wire

    Hello.

    I have got a stupid question due to the fact that I never did a slim up to now.

    Since the CPU_RST PCB is not yet availabel I thought if it might work out if I "split the CPU_RST wire".

    I mean soldering a smaller piece of wire to the MoBo point for CPU_RST (like 10 cm) an then join it with different lengths of wire up to the coolrunner. (So I do not need to solder to the MoBo point everytime I try another length.)

    Any chance that this might work?

    Pleas don't blame me too hard for this question!

  2. #2
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    31
    Skill Level
    Xbox
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Splitting CPU_RST wire

    Quote Originally Posted by Borgut View Post
    Hello.

    I have got a stupid question due to the fact that I never did a slim up to now.

    Since the CPU_RST PCB is not yet availabel I thought if it might work out if I "split the CPU_RST wire".

    I mean soldering a smaller piece of wire to the MoBo point for CPU_RST (like 10 cm) an then join it with different lengths of wire up to the coolrunner. (So I do not need to solder to the MoBo point everytime I try another length.)

    Any chance that this might work?

    Pleas don't blame me too hard for this question!
    Yes, that's exactly what u should do, FT4R2 is quite fragile.

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    33
    Skill Level
    Anything Xbox 360
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: Splitting CPU_RST wire

    that sounds smart to me bro, would be easy to damage that pad if u keep soldering and desoldering trying to get the length or you could desolder and resolder the wire from the coolrunner side, i thing that would be easier as the coolrunner is much less fragil then that little point

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    548
    Skill Level
    Flashing and Soldering
    Thanks
    124
    Thanked 92 Times in 81 Posts

    Re: Splitting CPU_RST wire

    Sounds cool let us know the results

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    39
    Skill Level
    Hobby-Modder
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: Splitting CPU_RST wire

    I woul prefer using the upcoming CPU_RST-PCB, but I can hardly wait any longer - I guess you know what I mean.

    If I woul not split the wire I would of course solder on the coolrunner side as much as possible. This is working as long as I want to shorten the cable, but if I want to make it longer again or try whole different routing, I would need to solder the pad again. Thatfore I think about splitting the wire to only solder the pad itself once.

    I need to think about if I wait or start all over ... *grrr* ...

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Esbjerg - Denmark
    Posts
    462
    Skill Level
    Technician
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 188 Times in 118 Posts

    Re: Splitting CPU_RST wire

    Quote Originally Posted by Borgut View Post
    I woul prefer using the upcoming CPU_RST-PCB, but I can hardly wait any longer - I guess you know what I mean.

    If I woul not split the wire I would of course solder on the coolrunner side as much as possible. This is working as long as I want to shorten the cable, but if I want to make it longer again or try whole different routing, I would need to solder the pad again. Thatfore I think about splitting the wire to only solder the pad itself once.

    I need to think about if I wait or start all over ... *grrr* ...
    Or you could also cut a wire to approx 25 cm and then put a 33nF cap on a 1kOhm resistor and in the middle of that wire.

    That way you dont have to spend hours trying different wire positions. It works fine for me.


    Trying is the first step to failure (quote from Homer Simpson)

  7. #7
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    39
    Skill Level
    Hobby-Modder
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: Splitting CPU_RST wire

    Yes I have seen this alternative. Sadly a "switched" power source for the coolrunner is used to discharge the cap. TX says better not to use a switched power on the CR ...

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Esbjerg - Denmark
    Posts
    462
    Skill Level
    Technician
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 188 Times in 118 Posts

    Re: Splitting CPU_RST wire

    Quote Originally Posted by Borgut View Post
    Yes I have seen this alternative. Sadly a "switched" power source for the coolrunner is used to discharge the cap. TX says better not to use a switched power on the CR ...
    Just use regular power source. I have same result with or without swithced power source.


    Trying is the first step to failure (quote from Homer Simpson)

  9. #9
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    31
    Skill Level
    Xbox
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Splitting CPU_RST wire

    Quote Originally Posted by esbmaepo View Post
    Or you could also cut a wire to approx 25 cm and then put a 33nF cap on a 1kOhm resistor and in the middle of that wire.

    That way you dont have to spend hours trying different wire positions. It works fine for me.
    What are your booting times with this mod?
    Switch on phat or slim?

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Esbjerg - Denmark
    Posts
    462
    Skill Level
    Technician
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 188 Times in 118 Posts

    Re: Splitting CPU_RST wire

    Quote Originally Posted by stanleytli View Post
    What are your booting times with this mod?
    Switch on phat or slim?
    Boot times the same as everybody elses I guess

    Slim mode

    Next time I'm gonna try bypassing cap R5 on CR, see what happens. Could also try in PHAT mode.

    A shorter wire seams to have more resistance to electrical inteferences. Just my theory


    Trying is the first step to failure (quote from Homer Simpson)

  11. #11
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Sth Island, New Zealand
    Posts
    79
    Skill Level
    soldering
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts

    Re: Splitting CPU_RST wire

    It works fine if you solder two lengths together for CPU_RST, and then play around with length and position.

 

 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •