Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 7th January 13, 23:00
  2. [JTAG] Updating Kinect?
    By PieterToo in forum The Noob Room
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 5th January 13, 22:47
  3. Updating my 9199 JTAG to KINECT UPDATE
    By butowood in forum Xbox 360 JTAG Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th November 10, 18:24
  4. Kinect Dashboard + Kinect Games not working with LT 1.2
    By inoperable in forum Xbox 360 Firmware Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 13th November 10, 10:44
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    29
    Skill Level
    Noob
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Updating RGH'd XBOX 360 for Kinect

    I went to xbox.com/update, downloaded the 14719 update, installed the file on USB (fat32) and put it the xbox, turned it on and the damn thing won't update.

    I've tried using folders:
    $systemupdate
    $SystemUpdate
    $$ystemupdate

    and it still doesn't work.

    Any thoughts/help?

    --
    Formatted USB using XBOX 360 at 256.
    Placed unzipped file from xbox.com/update into USB.
    Was named $systemupdate
    Last edited by draftzero; 3rd April 12 at 01:32. Reason: Solved

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    doncaster
    Posts
    140
    Skill Level
    repair & modding
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 41 Times in 40 Posts

    Re: Updating RGH'd XBOX 360 for Kinect

    Is the file you downloaded a zip/rar file that needs extracting

    The Following User Says Thank You to daftdog198 For This Useful Post:



  3. #3

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    london uk
    Posts
    491
    Skill Level
    flashing rgh and tagging
    Thanks
    97
    Thanked 176 Times in 128 Posts

    Re: Updating RGH'd XBOX 360 for Kinect

    daftdog good idea but if he put it on usb and renamed it three times he must of un zipped it

    what dash are you on at mo. ?

    The Following User Says Thank You to tonyjandc For This Useful Post:



  4. #4
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    29
    Skill Level
    Noob
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Updating RGH'd XBOX 360 for Kinect

    Yes it was a zip file and I extracted the contents to the USB.. guess should have made that clear.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    971
    Skill Level
    Pro
    Thanks
    75
    Thanked 374 Times in 260 Posts

    Re: Updating RGH'd XBOX 360 for Kinect

    Use Dash Launch 2.32
    Edit Your launch.ini !

    noupdater = false

    & download USB Format( from the attachments) and format to FAT32 ...
    and try with Extracted Folder(No Rename required if noupdater set to false)

    Hope this helps !
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by AMIT; 3rd April 12 at 01:07.

    The Following User Says Thank You to AMIT For This Useful Post:



  6. #6
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    29
    Skill Level
    Noob
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Updating RGH'd XBOX 360 for Kinect

    Quote Originally Posted by tonyjandc View Post
    daftdog good idea but if he put it on usb and renamed it three times he must of un zipped it

    what dash are you on at mo. ?
    14719

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    971
    Skill Level
    Pro
    Thanks
    75
    Thanked 374 Times in 260 Posts

    Re: Updating RGH'd XBOX 360 for Kinect

    Quote Originally Posted by draftzero View Post
    14719
    Did you tried that what what i told you ?

    The Following User Says Thank You to AMIT For This Useful Post:



  8. #8
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    29
    Skill Level
    Noob
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Updating RGH'd XBOX 360 for Kinect

    Quote Originally Posted by AMIT View Post
    Did you tried that what what i told you ?
    Formatting the USB right now.
    Last edited by draftzero; 3rd April 12 at 01:15.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    london uk
    Posts
    491
    Skill Level
    flashing rgh and tagging
    Thanks
    97
    Thanked 176 Times in 128 Posts

    Re: Updating RGH'd XBOX 360 for Kinect

    is your kinect plugged in as well silly question i know but if its not plugged in you wont need any further updates as the box is upto date . My friend did the same plugged his kinect in said it needed update so he downloaded it unplugged kinect stuck his usb stick in and wondered why it wouldnt update

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    162
    Skill Level
    --
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts

    Re: Updating RGH'd XBOX 360 for Kinect

    Nah, it must be something else as $$ystemUpdate is not working for him either, and that should just work with noupdater set to true.

    I would format the USB drive using the Xbox 360 so you're sure it can be read (in settings > storage). Just select the smallest option (prolly 256MB or something) and you'll have plenty of space left for the update and you're sure the USB stick can be read by the Xbox 360 and is formatted correctly as FAT32.

    Also you can enable hidden folders and files in windows and delete the hidden XBOX360 so you're sure that the USB stick is completely empty when putting the update folder on.

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Khobar, Saudi Arabia
    Posts
    389
    Skill Level
    Flashing, RGH/Jtag, RROD repair
    Thanks
    90
    Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts

    Re: Updating RGH'd XBOX 360 for Kinect

    The update you rename to $$ystemupdate should be the same version as your dash

    Besides what AMIT already told you should work
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    It's ok man you don't have to say "thank you" for help.
    You can just press the "Thanks" button

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    PM me for MT1335WE original chips
    Or Unlocked Liteon 164ds PCBs

    The Following User Says Thank You to Argentum For This Useful Post:



  12. #12

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    971
    Skill Level
    Pro
    Thanks
    75
    Thanked 374 Times in 260 Posts

    Re: Updating RGH'd XBOX 360 for Kinect

    Quote Originally Posted by jant90 View Post
    Also you can enable hidden folders and files in windows and delete the hidden XBOX360 so you're sure that the USB stick is completely empty when putting the update folder on.
    I would like to format it again ,if it work on 360 once then it work again & again !

    The Following User Says Thank You to AMIT For This Useful Post:



  13. #13

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    162
    Skill Level
    --
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts

    Re: Updating RGH'd XBOX 360 for Kinect

    Not if he formats it in NTFS ofc. That's why I would use the Xbox 360 to format it, you can be sure it's correctly formatted as fat32 .

    The Following User Says Thank You to jant90 For This Useful Post:



  14. #14
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    29
    Skill Level
    Noob
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Updating RGH'd XBOX 360 for Kinect

    Quote Originally Posted by tonyjandc View Post
    is your kinect plugged in as well silly question i know but if its not plugged in you wont need any further updates as the box is upto date . My friend did the same plugged his kinect in said it needed update so he downloaded it unplugged kinect stuck his usb stick in and wondered why it wouldnt update
    Kinect is plugged in

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    971
    Skill Level
    Pro
    Thanks
    75
    Thanked 374 Times in 260 Posts

    Re: Updating RGH'd XBOX 360 for Kinect

    Quote Originally Posted by Argentum View Post
    The update you rename to $$ystemupdate should be the same version as your dash

    Besides what AMIT already told you should work
    Quote Originally Posted by draftzero View Post
    I went to xbox.com/update, downloaded the 14719 update.
    Quote Originally Posted by tonyjandc View Post
    what dash are you on at mo. ?
    Quote Originally Posted by draftzero View Post
    14719
    Quote Originally Posted by jant90 View Post
    Not if he formats it in NTFS ofc. That's why I would use the Xbox 360 to format it, you can be sure it's correctly formatted as fat32 .
    If he formatted to NTFS then it doesn't shown in Xbox 360 Dash ,Clear ?

    ---------- Post added at 04:57 ---------- Previous post was at 04:54 ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by draftzero View Post
    Kinect is plugged in
    Disconnect Kinect and try to update .

    Again ,did you done what i told you ?
    Last edited by AMIT; 3rd April 12 at 01:30.

    The Following User Says Thank You to AMIT For This Useful Post:



  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    doncaster
    Posts
    140
    Skill Level
    repair & modding
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 41 Times in 40 Posts

    Re: Updating RGH'd XBOX 360 for Kinect

    Just to clarify.
    You did download the correct update that is for installing from a usb stick and not one of the others that is for cd etc.
    Have you tried redownloading it just incase its a bad download

    The Following User Says Thank You to daftdog198 For This Useful Post:



  17. #17
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    29
    Skill Level
    Noob
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Updating RGH'd XBOX 360 for Kinect

    Quote Originally Posted by AMIT View Post
    If he formatted to NTFS then it doesn't shown in Xbox 360 Dash ,Clear ?
    Formatted using the USB tool you gave me, no go.

    Formatting using 360 at 256 MB and it worked. woot.

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    971
    Skill Level
    Pro
    Thanks
    75
    Thanked 374 Times in 260 Posts

    Re: Updating RGH'd XBOX 360 for Kinect

    Quote Originally Posted by draftzero View Post
    Formatted using the USB tool you gave me, no go.

    Formatting using 360 at 256 MB and it worked. woot.

    The Following User Says Thank You to AMIT For This Useful Post:



  19. #19
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    29
    Skill Level
    Noob
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Updating RGH'd XBOX 360 for Kinect

    Now that I updated, it restarted and it just hangs...?

    --
    Nevermind, just took a bit.
    Last edited by draftzero; 3rd April 12 at 01:35.

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    doncaster
    Posts
    140
    Skill Level
    repair & modding
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 41 Times in 40 Posts

    Re: Updating RGH'd XBOX 360 for Kinect

    Have you removed the usb stick from the console.
    If it still hangs keep your finger on the sync button while you power on and keep the sync button pressed until the console has booted.
    This should clear any failed updates

    The Following User Says Thank You to daftdog198 For This Useful Post:



 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •