Dedicated Game Server for the 360

digitaljesus

Noob Account
Sep 6, 2010
OK Guys & Girls.....I've been doing alot of research on the subject, and I absolutely refuse to take NO as an answer. :) With that in mind, I'm sort of brainstorming on possible "What If's, and How To's," on the subject-matter at hand.

i.e., I'm trying to create a DEDICATED game server for Xbox 360's. The applications for this project are massive IMO and I think it'd be worth brainstorming to see what solutions (if any) we can come up with.

my background: I currently work in IT-related industry, providing InfoSec services to a wide-variety of individuals. A computer (or Xbox 360) is only as smart as its programmer. The 360 is essentially nothing more than a motherboard, dvd player, hdd, usb ports, and a RJ-45 jack......

AKA: a computer.......

As I searched the web for an answer, I came across a multitude of them ---- However I don't much care for being told the many ways how I can't do something......especially since a computer is nothing more than a dumb machine. It does what it's told, and it's told to run a game........

Could it be possible do to the following:

1. Integrate/Bridge/Attach/Solder your Xbox 360 motherboard to that of the dedicated server?

i.e., half 360 / half (LOCAL) server.

2. hijack the current programming string that tells your 360 what Xbox Live address to Poll/Ping/Connect to.

i.e., When you power on your console or insert a game disc you are generally presented with the option to connect to XBL. Instead of connecting to XBL, I want to "designate," a specific IP to connect to

Impossibilities aside, if we can figure out this problem we can bring Peer-2-Peer (organized gaming) to Modders, Flashers, Hackers, an Indie/Unerground/Pro Gamers alike.

marshamods

VIP Member
Mar 7, 2010
ohio
not on a retail xbox 360 console. But on a jtag or dev kit the possiblites are endless.

Jun 4, 2010