FlashBIOS menu wont scroll up and down / cant make selections

Xecuter

Staff member
Top TX Brass
Dec 6, 2002
11,465
128
Asia
team-xecuter.com
Sometimes certain joypads wont work - ive yet to see one myself so i can test - but it does happen.

Simply use an original MS controller or just try another controller - it will work

if ppl could post in here the exact model of controllers that DID work and those that DONT - thanks
 

japagi

Senior Member
Jan 4, 2005
118
0
Denver
Mine Worked
Type: Xbox Controller S
Part No.: X08-69873
Serial No.: 745588435A (Not sure if you wanted this or not.)
 

Montrell274

Noob Account
Apr 14, 2005
6
0
montrell274.co.nr
had to pull out my only retro xbox controller (the original, not s-version) to do it.
 

MenaceOfMen

Full Member
Mar 26, 2005
51
0
memory cards also screw it up
 

sbsp

Noob Account
Mar 7, 2005
4
0
i had a phoenix, or gamephoenix(something with phoenix) i bought from besbuy that didnt work. returned it and got a blue ms controller s that worked.
 

takisxxx

Noob Account
Apr 16, 2005
1
0
i have the same problem...i tried 2 ms controller s and stil i can't scroll up and down in flash bios.eny help pls??????
 

samuraigecko

Noob Account
Apr 21, 2005
3
0
i had to disconect the dvd remote receiver from the controller port b4 my flashBIOS menu worked.

hope that helps
:)
 

wulfeman

Noob Account
Nov 15, 2003
1
0
had the same problem. just plugged the controller in another port on the xbox and it worked fine. had to do it everytime i wanted to reflash.
 

woody1969

Noob Account
Mar 27, 2005
1
0
v1.6 xbox x3 chip
every time i update the bios no matter what controller i have to use #3 controller slot
 

scapa69

Noob Account
May 18, 2005
2
0
Edinburgh
me to 1.6 xbox's suck!

cottonstar said:
My Controller S doesn't work with the bios screen.
Part No: X08-69873
1.6 XBOX
yea just bought a 1.6 x-box with the same controller as you and cant scroll up and down the screen. did you find out what to do or did you give up :( tried another cheap controller (both in all ports) nothing -!!!!:mad:
heard someone said the dvd controller might work. Maybe its a solder problem? feck knows eh I wish i never bothered now. Kicking my self for not buying a 2nd hand one off e-bay sounds like loads of people with 1.6 have problems.
 

Polarbear1492

Full Member
Mar 25, 2005
38
0
1.6 has nothing to do with it! neways, make sure you plug all the controller ports into the motheboard(or daughterboard if you have a 1.0). also, try restarting with the controller already in the port. one controller at a time.
 

jaggafeen

Junior Member
May 23, 2005
21
0
1.3 xbox with 2.6ce chip i have 2 microsoft controllers one slightly larger than the other but only the smaller one works in port 1 ,wierd huh
 

BenZup

Junior Member
Jun 8, 2005
16
0
Second Miltia
Will a Logitech work when wanting to flash?

Anyway, my brother's S Controlller is almost busted because he doesn't want to take care of it.

It works fine when playing games, but it [won't let me] make selections on the X2.6CE via 1.6a.
 
Last edited:

brsmnky28

Noob Account
Jun 20, 2005
1
0
S controller model X08-69873 didn't work in flashbios or cromwell, I bought the old fat controller used, model X08-17160 and it worked fine in both.
 

paul_phil

Full Member
Nov 12, 2003
41
0
Nottingham, UK
All my old S controllers work fine, but I've got 3 brand new ones that don't.
 

deadsled

Noob Account
Jul 7, 2004
1
0
menu won't scroll when flashing

It's because it is looking for the original ms controller firmware...try unplugging the controller and reinserting it after the bios screen comes up..that worked for me....and I have a gamester controller and also a logitech wireless...no ms controller at all...good luck!
 

Hugo N

Noob Account
Jul 24, 2005
1
0
Is there some other way to fiks this issue? I dont have so many controllers to try here )c:

1.6 Xbox, X2.6CE, 200 Gb HDD