How to post XGD3 test results

ihaveacamaro

VIP Member
Apr 4, 2011
408
0
Central-ish Florida
Wow...I must have had a bad batch of 001s, i'm going to call verbatim, apparently they can check a disc S/N and if it was a bad batch they send you a new batch free.
Anyways...here are the results from my 003s that came in today:
Smartburn = enabled
Force Hyper Tuning = enabled
Online Hyper Tuning = enabled
OPC = enabled
Burn Speed = 4x
SATA Chipset: Intel ICH10
No non-essential processes running.
http://i41.tinypic.com/2edsak9.png

HUGE difference....I can't imagine those 001s are good after seeing this much improvement after only changing the discs.
Look at my post above you. Got nearly the same PI max and a better PIF max and average using 001s when compared to your 003 image. :wink:
 

jivex5k

Full Member
Dec 20, 2004
46
0
NC
No I mean I got a bad batch of 001s, not that all 001s are bad.
Like I said im calling up verbatim to see if they will replace them.
 

ihaveacamaro

VIP Member
Apr 4, 2011
408
0
Central-ish Florida
No I mean I got a bad batch of 001s, not that all 001s are bad.
Like I said im calling up verbatim to see if they will replace them.
Fair enough. I see a bunch of posts saying that people are making the switch from 001 to 003 (since 003s seem to be better for a lot of people) so my mistake for misreading your post :smile:

Hope they replace them for you!
 

spazpecker

Noob Account
Nov 17, 2004
4
0
uk
Forza4 disc1 Datawrite Redtops
EEPROM Settings:

Smartburn = Enabled
Force Hyper Tuning = Enabled
Online Hyper Tuning = Enabled
IMGBURN Settings:
OPC = Disabled
Burn Speed = 2.4x
Chipset:
X360usb
Installed to H/D 100%
 

spazpecker

Noob Account
Nov 17, 2004
4
0
uk
Forza4 disc2 Datawrite Redtops
EEPROM Settings:

Smartburn = Enabled
Force Hyper Tuning = Enabled
Online Hyper Tuning = Enabled
IMGBURN Settings:
OPC = Disabled
Burn Speed = 2.4x
Chipset:
Intel Ich9 ide mode compatibility
Installed to H/D 100%
 

GhostFace606

VIP Member
Jan 31, 2011
803
0
TanonymousX
Ok i have been toying with my settings in imageburn,Also in my bios. For me!..to get the best resaults with the unfamous verbatim mkm001-00.I have to set my pc up like this.

AHCI instead of IDE in my BIOS!

MEDIA: Verbatim MKM001-00 @2.4x speed

Game: Space Marine

EPPROM SETTINGS:

OPC= OFF
SMARTBURN=ON
ONLINE HT=ON
HT=ON
OVERSPEED=OFF

None of my background programs disabled.
 

akashi

Junior Member
Apr 28, 2007
19
0


EEPROM Settings:
Smartburn = Enabled
Force Hyper Tuning = Enabled
Online Hyper Tuning = Enabled

IMGBURN Settings:

OPC = Enabled
Burn Speed = 4x

Chipset:
AMD SB7xx (IDE Mode)

OPC cleared before burn.
 

KaZPeRxX

Senior Member
Jan 23, 2010
117
0
The first 2 XGD3 Backups. Could you let me know if they're fine?

Drive:
iHAS324B

EEPROM settings:
Smartburn = enabled
Force Hyper Tuning = enabled
Online Hyper Tuning = enabled

IMGBURN settings:
Default Settings
OPC = enabled
Burn Speed = 4x
100% Verified

SATA Chipset:
Intel ICH7

Media/Disc:
Verbatim (Singapore) MKM-003

Batman AC:


Forza Disc 1:
 

mathesar

Junior Member
Jul 31, 2010
10
0
California
Ive noticed a lot of people have a big spike in PI around the 50% mark and it gets especially bad at the very end, I'm also one of those people after 8 discs they all have this same behavior.

I decided to do a little test and burned an XGD2 (GTA IV) on both my IHAS324B & Sony 7240S (for comparison sake) using the same settings and media (MKM001 @ 2.4x), I found the results to be interesting...

GTA IV / IHAS324B @ 2.4x / OPC Off


GTA IV / Sony Optiarc 7240S @ 2.4x / OPC Off:



As you can see the IHAS324B result has the same characteristics as an XGD3 burn (50% spike, worse at very end).

However when using the Sony burner the PI came out super clean with a Max PI of 17 and only 0.89 Average !

Is something wrong with the Liteon or FW? I thought maybe the media was at fault but that doesnt explain the Sony's results ...

Smartburn = enabled
Nothing else checked in Eeprom settings

OPC = Off
Burn speed 2.4x

Connected directly to Onboard SATA (Intel ICH10R / AHCI enabled but also tried IDE mode with no change in results).
 
Last edited:

KaZPeRxX

Senior Member
Jan 23, 2010
117
0
My Third Attempt on a XGD3 Backup...

Forza Disc 2:




Drive:
iHAS324B
EEPROM settings:
Smartburn = enabled
Force Hyper Tuning = enabled
Online Hyper Tuning = enabled
IMGBURN settings:
Default Settings
OPC = enabled
Burn Speed = 4x
100% Verified
SATA Chipset:
Intel ICH7
Media/Disc:
Verbatim (Singapore) MKM-003
 

diaboliq20

VIP Member
Jun 23, 2011
3,517
0
Scotland
Ive noticed a lot of people have a big spike in PI around the 50% mark and it gets especially bad at the very end, I'm also one of those people after 8 discs they all have this same behavior.

I decided to do a little test and burned an XGD2 (GTA IV) on both my IHAS324B & Sony 7240S (for comparison sake) using the same settings and media (MKM001 @ 2.4x), I found the results to be interesting...

GTA IV / IHAS324B @ 2.4x / OPC Off
Link To Image

GTA IV / Sony Optiarc 7240S @ 2.4x / OPC Off:

Link To Image

As you can see the IHAS324B result has the same characteristics as an XGD3 burn (50% spike, worse at very end).

However when using the Sony burner the PI came out super clean with a Max PI of 17 and only 0.89 Average !

Is something wrong with the Liteon or FW? I thought maybe the media was at fault but that doesnt explain the Sony's results ...

Smartburn = enabled
Nothing else checked in Eeprom settings

OPC = Off
Burn speed 2.4x

Connected directly to Onboard SATA (Intel ICH10R / AHCI enabled but also tried IDE mode with no change in results).
Don't forget - the iHAS burns past where the sony burns - so the spike at layer break (50%) and at the end reflects the poor outer edge of the media used....the sony doesn't burn that far so doesn't show the same spike errors

having said that - it's just dawned on me it's XGD2 pmsl - DOH!
 
Last edited:

CS10

VIP Member
Dec 26, 2010
195
0
Derby, UK
www.ldhosts.co.uk
My Third Attempt on a XGD3 Backup...

Forza Disc 2:

Link To Image


Drive:
iHAS324B
EEPROM settings:
Smartburn = enabled
Force Hyper Tuning = enabled
Online Hyper Tuning = enabled
IMGBURN settings:
Default Settings
OPC = enabled
Burn Speed = 4x
100% Verified
SATA Chipset:
Intel ICH7
Media/Disc:
Verbatim (Singapore) MKM-003
Thats a good burn
 

alyshehata

VIP Member
Jan 26, 2011
386
0
Don't forget - the iHAS burns past where the sony burns - so the spike at layer break (50%) and at the end reflects the poor outer edge of the media used....the sony doesn't burn that far so doesn't show the same spike errors

having said that - it's just dawned on me it's XGD2 pmsl - DOH!
Same exact problem. Burned fifa 12, and it has the same problem. However, my LG gets perfect results. Dont know if i need to buy a new drive or what :/
 

KaZPeRxX

Senior Member
Jan 23, 2010
117
0
For Comparison... Using the same iso (Batman) and same settings apart from the fact i changed the buffer size from default (40MB) to 52MB on the second graph.

Media/Disc:
Verbatim (Singapore) MKM-003
Drive:
iHAS324B
EEPROM settings:
Smartburn = enabled
Force Hyper Tuning = enabled
Online Hyper Tuning = enabled
IMGBURN settings:
Default Settings
OPC = enabled
Burn Speed = 4x
100% Verified
SATA Chipset:
Intel ICH7


 

carlos007

VIP Member
May 19, 2009
330
0
Setup info using cpu-z info here
DVD: Liteon iHAS 124-04 B from xconsoles info here
Motherboard Dell model 07n90w revision a01
SATA:Intel(R)N10/ICH7 Family Serial ATA Storage Controller-2700 (Plug-n-Play):p
OS: Win 7 x32
Driver: SPTI
Media: Verbatim MKM-001 Singapore
Speed: 2.4x (OPC off)
Smartburn: EEPROM Enabled
Force Hyper Tuning: EEPROM Enabled
Online Hyper Tuning: EEPROM Enabled

All other IMGBURN settings were default and all apps were off meaning only used what I had to do(don't touch keyboard or mouse)

Followed Ubergeek's guide to the T info here and Xecuter for posting this info here Thank you to both and for the team for making all this possible.

These are my first 2 test burns!!!

Graph:












 
Last edited:

TorchLight

VIP Member
Dec 16, 2010
174
0
Anyone know what to make of this :facepalm:
seems strange because there is no spike at the layerbreak

Smartburn = enabled
Force Hyper Tuning = disabled
Online Hyper Tuning = disabled
OPC = enabled
Burn Speed = 4x

Connected via ICH10 ATAPI

Verbatim singapore MKM003 printables
 
Last edited:

alyshehata

VIP Member
Jan 26, 2011
386
0
BF3 Disk 2, burned at 2.4 OPC off. Same problem as all the disks. I tried all the options, so im thinking its hardware. Will try to get other media, and a new psu for my PC. Other than that, i have no idea what might be causing this issue :/

 

petlar

Senior Member
Sep 2, 2011
136
18
uk
BF3 Disk 2, burned at 2.4 OPC off. Same problem as all the disks. I tried all the options, so im thinking its hardware. Will try to get other media, and a new psu for my PC. Other than that, i have no idea what might be causing this issue :/

Link To Image
try burning at 4x and clear opc data :)
 

Katalyst

Noob Account
Dec 9, 2004
5
0
USA
GoW3 on ihas224>624



Smartburn = enabled
Force Hyper Tuning = disabled
Online Hyper Tuning = disabled

OPC = enabled
Burn Speed = 4x