months of trying and still no luck

Akashascosset

Noob Account
Dec 19, 2019
Canada
Hi everyone,

This is my first time modding a 360, but I've been spending months scouring forums and playing around with trial and error trying to do an RGH mod.

For the first few weeks, it took forever to install the driver for the Xecuter J-R Programmer v2. I'm using Windows 10, and after it tried to auto install the driver it kept saying that the device couldn't get the name or ID from it and would just sit there with a yellow exclamation mark in the device manager. I would plug into all different USB ports and nothing. Occasionally the light would be green and the light would be red, and depending on the colour of the light the device would show up under different headings in the device manager.

I am aware that you have to disable certain protections to get the drivers installed, but none of that was working.

I eventually tried on my dad's computer that is still running Win 7. I noticed that when I would plug/unplug the programmer, jrunner notified when "bootloader" was (dis)connected, which is not something that happens with my laptop. I was able to update hex and then install driver but it didn't detect xbox when I clicked on the question mark button in jrunner - saying connection error can not continue. Eventually I tried on my mom's windows 10 with the same results.

I eventually got to the point where I could install the driver on my laptop, in a very random method of plugging and unplugging into all USB ports, but it still never says that the bootloader is (dis)connected (regardless of switch position), and is very random in whether or not the light turns on green or red when initially plugged in.

So, like every forum post says to do, I redid soldering (see picture album link provided) and I still get the same problems.