ANSWERED Recovering key after xgd3 update ?

Alexmercer

Noob Account
Jun 11, 2011
1. I bought a pre-flashed xbox so I don't have the dvd-key now.

2.So,after reading about ,I found out that the new dash update also flashes your drive(I have not updated yet.)

3.If I update now and get my drive flashed to the new stock firmware,can I recover my dvd-key from there?Can this new key be used for further flashing when the new LT+ firmware for Xdg3 comes?

4.I am a noob.

Alexmercer

Noob Account
Jun 11, 2011
So using that key...can I flash my console with some other firmware?

And does this mean that if XDG3 had never come ,I would have been unable to recover my key this easily?Because I heard its not possible to recover key from flashed drive easily...

Goldensavage

VIP Member
Jul 26, 2009
Essex, UK
You can get your key from your drive, either before the update and after the update.

Once you have obtained the key, yes you can flash the drive with the newer firmware when it comes.

It doesn't matter what update comes, M$ cannot remove the key from your drive as it would stop your drive from working.

So to finilize, you can retrieve your key pre and post update, and you can apply the firmware you want on it, but you would be better off waiting for the newer firmware to be released. Also one last thing, you should reflash your drive back to stock before updating. Saving your key for future reference

Alexmercer

Noob Account
Jun 11, 2011
You can get your key from your drive, either before the update and after the update.

Also one last thing, you should reflash your drive back to stock before updating. Saving your key for future reference
1.Why should I reflash to stock before updating?

2.How do I go about recovering my key before updating because I read somewhere that jungleflasher cannot recover the key from LT+ flashed drives.?