ANSWERED Troubleshooting Guide - No power / Completely Dead / Power and STBY_CLK Issues FIXED.

cicero44bc

Dec 1, 2011
Stratford Upon Avon
Firstly thanks to all those who have posted very useful info on these forums, you've created a pool of knowledge and amazing support - because of which I have never had to ask a question, thank you!

Secondly apologies this is in this section. As I am technically ranked as a noob I can't help it.

For me to begin giving a little bit back; This guide is designed to be a catch all in terms of possible causes of the described fault -

The issue/fault being addressed here::

Your xbox may run for a period of time then cut out like the power was pulled. Then run for a shorter period and cut out again. Then after that, not power on unless you remove the PSU from the xbox and leave to stand for 30mins OR it just wont turn on at all. This may be after days of working perfectly (as in my case). What you most likely have is a STBY_CLK issue - this is the part that point B on the coolrunner runs to on the HANA. I've checked a number of possible causes and saw a number of useful points in various posts and I thought I'd compile all I came across into one place to help those nice people that also use the search function before asking :)

So, if you are experiencing as above or it simply will not turn on at all;

Your points to check are -

* Dry solder joints - Your biggest saver here is to USE FLUX.
* Poor solder joints - See Image
* Bridges - Solder joints that span to points they shouldn't, OR joints in which the solder is left in a point and then touches the case when the xbox is put back together and gets warm.
* Lifted Pad and track caused by extreme over heating of a joint
* Broken STBY_CLK Track on motherboard - Can be caused by lifting the pad and/or slipping when applying the QSB.
* Blown/Dislodged R4B24 Resistor (at point B in install diagrams), caused by excessive heating and/or careless soldering.