JTAG WIP on Alternate NAND/JTAG points/ Tut

erfan223

Nov 1, 2011
USA
Like many of you new JTAGGERS using the NAND-X, I have ran into the ever so dreaded "Cannot detect flash controller" in Jtagtool. I decided to make a guide, and show you my problem along the way. This is my first time doing the JTAG. My goal is to dump the NAND first. Hopefully who ever has this problem can look at this and see how good or bad their joints are.

References: Diagram of ALTERNATE POINTS TO SOLDER TO
http://team-xecuter.com/forums/showthread.php?t=55120
Credits goto: Xmods
How to Install the NAND-X: http://team-xecuter.com/forums/showthread.php?t=54423 Credits goto: Xecuter
Video Guide to Freeboot install and Xell/Xellous:
http://www.jtaggers.com/videos/61-e...ool-and-nand-compare-nand-x-cygnos360-ltp-etc Credits again goto: Xmods​

****I am only able to work on this during weekends so bare with me as I upload pics along the way. ****

My setup: Using the NAND-X with the wire heads cut off. (Direct wire installation)
Zephyr Motherboard w/ dashboard 6717 (VERY OLD)
Windows 7 x64 Nand x drivers are installed
Power cable plugged in, and same for ROL when trying to dump NAND

MY PROBLEM: Rebuilding J1D2.3 J1D2.5.
Okay, so if you dont use the other 4 pin holes on the J1D2 and you have messed them up, is it ok to not rebuild those? Or are they needed for data to run through?

Please guide me as I try to fix this issue. Thanks

Last edited:

erfan223

Nov 1, 2011
USA
*****THIS IS A PIC OF MY OLD REBUILD THAT DID NOT WORK** I have desoldered this and a starting fresh and clean. More pics to come when I have time. WIP...

erfan223

Nov 1, 2011
USA
Here's some tips smaller gauge wire less solder. That tut that is posted above worked a treat for me use 30g wire. What watt iron are you using.

I always do a full rebuild for safety's sake.